The NSW Premier and the Minister for Local Government announced on Thursday 12 May the commencement of 19 new Councils. These councils are the result of the amalgamation of existing councils.


With 152 councils across the state, these amalgamations are a move towards a more efficiencet Local Government system which can only benefit Local and our clients.


A Development Control Plan or Contributions Plan that applied to a former area immediately before the amalgamation continues to apply to that part of the area of the new council that consists of the former area until such a time that the DCP or contributions plan is repealed.


The new council's most applicable to Local's operations and clients are:


Canterbury-Bankstown Council - the merger of Canterbury City and Bankstown City Councils.

Central Coast Council - the merger of Gosford City and Wyong Shire Councils.

City of Parramatta Council - the merger of parts of the following councils Parramatta, the Hills, Auburn, Holroyd and Hornsby.

Cumberland Council - the merger of parts of the following councils Parramatta, Auburn and Holroyd.

Georges River Council - the merger of Hurstville City and Kogarah City Councils.

Inner West Council - the merger of Ashfield, Leichhardt Municipal and Marrickville Councils.

Northern Beaches Council - the merger of Manly, Pittwater and Warringah Councils.


For a full list of Councils click on the link below:



There are also another 9 new council proposed subject to court proceedings.